Events and ceremonies

National Awards Ceremony

Upon gaining independence from Britain in 1962, it was decided that Trinidad and Tobago should have its own National Awards - a departure from the nation’s longstanding involvement in the system of Commonwealth Awards conferred by Her Majesty the Queen of England.

The National Awards were first given in 1969.

As Chancellor of the Order of the Trinity, His Excellency the President hosts the National Awards Ceremony annually on Independence Day, August 31st.


There is a National Awards Committee, headed by the Chief Justice, which oversees the nomination process and investigates the nominees before making its recommendation to the Prime Minister.

Any person or organization may submit a nomination, to the National Awards Committee, of a citizen for a National Award.

His Excellency the President confers the awards, “on the advice of the Prime Minister given after consideration of the recommendation of the Advisory Committee.”

The awards are made “by Instrument signed by the President and sealed with the Seal of the Order.”

Receive email updates of the latest news, events and speeches from the Office of the President. SUBSCRIBE »

Search our database of more than 1600 recipients of National Awards from 1969 to present.


Close Button
Thumbnail Icon
x of y


  • Select a Gallery
    • Most Recent
    • Appointments and Oaths of Office
    • Presentation of Credentials
    • Courtesy Calls
    • State Visits
    • Other Events
    • Highlighted Media
    • Featured Gallery
Oath of Office to Mr. Nizam Mohammed, Mr. Addison Masefield Khan, Mr. Martin Anthony George, Mrs. Jacqueline Cheeseman and Mr. Kenneth Michael Parker as Members of the Police Service Commission.
hide caption